Teror - Finca de Osorio - Teror
The estate of Osorio is surrounded by an area of unique natural value. It occupies an area of 207 hectares, approximately, where an intense agricultural and livestock activity continues to evolve. Several farmers continue to exploit soil, mainly planting potatoes, millet, wheat, fruit trees, etc. Most of the farms are located on the edge of the wooded area, at the bottom, although there are also some in the surrounding hills, at the foot of the peak, and above you´ll see the laurisilva.
The farm was acquired by the Cabildo of Gran Canaria in the year 1981, and opened to the public later in the year 1986, as nature's classroom, as well as recreational space. Recognizing, in addition, the work of conservation, recovery and development of environment, already the area corresponds to part of the
Forest Selva de Doramas, which captivates visitors. Currently this territory is protected by the Canary Islands laws and investment to recover the flora and fauna species with in the Rural Park Doramas.
The origin of Osorio goes back the 16th century, when they were divided and granted the solicitor Garcia Osorio and Trujillo. Later, in the 19th century, Dolores Manrique de Lara and Adán del Castillo Westerly inherited a part of the estate and gave their ideas and character to its architecture. The House has a balcony, characteristic of the old canary rural houses. The gardens and the entrance facade reveal structures of neoclassicism in Gran Canaria of the nineteenth and early twentieth Centuries.
It is particularly important to acknowledge the different paths that cover the interior of the reserve, as well as gardens, designed and cared for since the beginning of the stewardship, to which with remarkable effort trees shipped from other latitudes, mainly from Europe and South America, such as the ombú, araucarias, cork oaks, chestnut trees, oaks, poplars, magnolias, cypress trees, bananas, etc.
To visit the estate of Osorio, it is recommended to request permission calling the following phone: 928-630. 090.
Section 1: Teror-Finca de Osorio.
Approximate time: 45 minutes. Distance: 2180 m.
The tour begins in the Centre of Teror, in Real de la Plaza, street direction N, in the direction of Arucas (GC-43). We take Paseo Gonzalez Diaz, pass the bridge and after a slight bend in the road, we approach t the Dominican convent, with a lush Grove, and a stunning Centennial drago. Native tree of the Islands
We continue to the junction of San Matias, leaving to the right, the House of fleas (La Casa de las Pulgas) somewhat abandoned our next reference is a park that bears the name of José Hernández Jiménez (1886-1977), who was Mayor of Teror.
We leave the highway to enter the Park, take in the view, and to exit the park take the left, crossing a wooden bridge, access again to the shoulder of the road where we arrive to the front gates of the Estate Osorio. The shade of the Oaks for these last meters, seem a blessing.
We now enter the Farm Estate and follow the main track to La Casona. Before we pass by a row of oak and madrone Canaries (Arbutus canariensis), rare species to be found. The estate offers many possibilities to explore different paths and tracks, always surrounded by a lush grove.
The entrance track, , accedes to La Casona, architectural centrepiece of the Estate de Osorio and nature's study . we carry on to the right leaving the House on it´s left, to continue our walk to the rear, the ascent to the peak it is well signposted.
Section 2: Pico Rayo o Pico de Osorio.
Approximate time: 1 hour. Distance: 1950 m.
Behind La Casona, you will find a dirt track. 300 metres, surrounded by large trees, reaching Pinito House, where another fork will indicate the ascent to the peak of Osorio, or “Pico del Rayo, as the locals call it. t The origin of this name comes from in a fierce storm that took place in 5 January 1766 which shook the region: rain and thunder with lightning. The water dragged in its wake huge stones down the slopes and ravines. The storm went on for three days and the most singular effect was that a beam of lightening struck the hill” Pico de Osorio” (hence the name ). There was an avalanche of stones and earth, which buried lower parts of Osorio: "Las Vegas". Residents feared for their lives and the event was recorded in the historical memory of the inhabitants, was transmitted generation after generation with the name of "Temporal de Reyes".
The ascent to the peak, is quite demanding . Through the forest of Crespo and,with many twists and turns, in the shadow of Chestnuts, and oaks, You will note the change in the soil due to the reforestation in the 1990s, thus recovering the topsoil and curbing the enormous erosion of the mountain.
The geodesic vertex of the top, to the right of the last crossroads, serves for dividing three townships Teror, Valleseco and Firgas.
Section 3: Descent to La Laguna de Valleseco.
Approximate time: 45 minutes. Distance: 1670 m.
Retracing our steps, up to the last fork and but this time go straight ahead on through the centre of the crest of the mountain, to reach the Degollada de Osorio and the general road. We walk on to the asphalt road in the direction of La Laguna de Valleseco, leaving to our left a small mountain (El Morón) with radio aerials on its peak .
This stage has about 900 meters, approximately, before we see “La Laguna2, then another we walanother 300 meters to the left.
Section 4: Descent to the town centre of Teror.
Approximate time: 40 minutes. Distance: 2240 m.
The descent is done by a narrow road of asphalt ending in the main road, the GC-21. This is the path to descent, you can take a short cut on several occasions to reach the road to Teror to Valleseco, GC-21 roa
We will appreciate the view of "La vuelta de los pájaros", and continue descending in the direction of the football field, cross thefield and continue straight until you see "Camino el Castaño"street this is after the stadium, and, finally, turn right at La Herrería Street to reach the historic centre and basilica of Teror.